India U16 falter at the final hurdle against Bangladesh in the 2015 U16 SAFF Championship

The Indian colts lost out on spot kicks in the final of the U16 SAFF Cup held in Bangladesh against the hosts.

The Indian national Under-16 team was defeated 2-4 on penalties against Bangladesh in the U16 South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Cup final. The match had ended 1-1 at the end of regulation time. 
The first half ended goal less but both teams had come close to break the deadlock, only to be foiled by their respective goalkeepers.

It was the hosts who got on the scoresheet just after half time with the dynamic Mohammed Shawon put in a beautiful cross from the left, which striker Fahim Murshed smashed it past the helpless Indian goalkeeper.

However in spite of Shawon wreaking havoc on the wings, India equalised just after the hour mark when Amay Morajkar’s left footed piledriver was too hot for Faisal Ahmed to handle in goal.

With the match ending 1-1 after ninety minutes, there was further drama as the penalty shootout was postponed for a good twenty odd minutes due to power outage at the Sylhet stadium.

However it was the hosts who held on to the nerves scoring each of their four spot kicks while Abhijit Sarkar for India could only see his effort rebound off the post, while Saqlain Khan’s effort was saved by Faisal.

Bangladesh thus managed to grab the trophy from defending champions, India and were crowned the 2015 U16 SAFF Cup champions.

Bangladesh: Faisal Ahmed, Shawon Hossain, Fahim Murshed, Mohammad Ridoy, Mohammad Shawon, Emon Khan, Saad Uddin, Mohammad Atikuzzaman, Jahangir Alam Sajeeb, Khalil Bhuiyan and Mostajeb Khan.

India: Prabhsukhan Singh Gill, Mohammad Saqline Khan, Ajin Tom, Mohamad Rakip, Jianchun Rongmei, Mohammad Shahjahan, Amay Avinash Morajkar, Rahim Ali, Abhijit Sarkar, Jerermy Laldinpuia and Aimol Chongompipa.

– Goal

You may also like...