All India Football Federation condoles the death of former India International and Technical Director Amal Datta. He passed away in Kolkata after a prolonged illness on Sunday (July 10, 2016). He was 86.

Datta made his International debut as a Midfielder against Pakistan in the Quadrangular Tournament in Rangoon which was his sole appearance for the Country. He was also in the India squad for 1954 Asian Games in Manila and the 1954 Quadrangular Tournament which was held in Calcutta.

Datta who took to Coaching immediately after hanging his boots and went on to become India’s first professional Coach. He guided India to win the Gold Medal in the 1987 SAF Games in Calcutta as India’s Technical Director. He was also the Technical Director for the 1988 Nehru Cup in Siliguri.

AIFF President, Mr. Praful Patel in his message said: “It is sad to hear that Mr. Amal Datta is no more. His contribution to Indian Football will never be forgotten. I share the grief.”

AIFF General Secretary, Mr. Kushal Das said: “Mr. Amal Datta will be alive in his achievements. He has been the inspiration of so many Footballers. May He Rest in Peace.”

Datta, described by many as ‘India’s true Footall philosopher’ began his playing career with Sporting Union from where he moved to Aryans FC, BNR and eventually East Bengal.

After retiring, he pursued is Coaching degree from England and thereafter started training youngsters at Bally, Howrah at his own expense. In 1960 he gave up his Railways job and became the first professional Coach of India.

As a Coach, he was a great innovator. It was in 1964 in the IFA Shield that he broke away from the traditional 3-2-5 formation and switched over to withdrawn centre forward system by promoting Midfielder Prasanta Sinha to that role.

In 1969 he used the 4-2-4 formation fielding Bhabani Roy and Altaf as wing backs.

He was also the first Coach in India to adopt to the 4-4-2 system during the Nehru Cup in Siliguri and was the promoter of the Diamond system in 1997 for Mohun Bagan.

Over the years, he Coached the Big-three of Kolkata – Mohun Bagan, East Bengal and Mohammedan Sporting winning laurels for each of the Clubs. Besides, he also Coached Churchill Brothers and Kolkata’s Tollygunge Agragami in the NFL.

For Mohun Bagan – Trophies won:

Calcutta Football League: 1969, 1986, 1997, 2005.

IFA Shield: 1969, 1987, 1989, 1998.

Rovers Cup: 1970, 1985, 1991.

Durand Cup: 1985, 1986.

Federation Cup: 1986, 1987, 1998.

DCM Trophy: 1997.

Dr. H. K. Mookherjee Shield: 1969.

Nehru Trophy (Madras): 1970.

Sikkim Gold Cup: 1985, 1986, 1989.

SSS Trophy: 1987.

Airlines Trophy: 1989, 2005.

Independence Day Cup: 1997.

For East Bengal  — Trophies won:

Calcutta Football League: 1977, 1982.

IFA Shield: 1976 (Joint-winners), 1984.

Durand Cup: 1982 (Joint-winners).

Rovers Cup: 1975-76.

Darjeeling Gold Cup: 1982 (Joint-winners).

Sanjay Gandhi Gold Cup: 1984.

Bordoloi Trophy: 1992.

Airlines Trophy: 1992.

ATP Shield: 1992.

For Mohammdean Sporting — Trophies won:

Rovers Cup (Joint winners): 1980.

DCM Trophy: 1980.

Sikkim Gold Cup: 1980.

AIFF Media

You may also like...