DSK Shivajians F.C

featured_dsk shivajians fc_page


Many aspiring footballers from Shivajinagar area, including the likes of Shri Ashok Vanjari, Manoj Walvekar, Emanuel Jeevan, Moreshwar(Appa) Dhumal, Viju Deshmukh, Frank Norman came together to create a better platform for the budding footballers of the city. Under the leadership of Late Shri Ashok Vanjari, they formed a football club which was named as SHIVAJIANS SPORTS CLUB on 6th August 1987, with its name taken from the area to which most of the players belonged to.

In 1987 itself, the management of Shivajians Sports Club successfully organized the first ever All India Floodlight Football Tournament, which held in Pune in the memory of Shri B. B. Walvekar. Some of the top teams in country such as Central Railway – Bombay, Madras Tukes, Bank Of India – Bombay, Sessa Goa, State Bank Of India – Hyderabad, Salsete Goa, Kampti Colonies – Nagpur, Bangalore Eleven, Kerala Police and Cochin Customs had participated in this tournament.

The golden era of the club was from 1987 to 1997. Over the decade, the club had dominated the football scenario in Pune district. During this period the club won all the prestigious tournaments held in Pune, some of them like Dr Hedgewar Football Tournament, Raja Shiv Chatrapati Football Tournament, Rupmay Chatterjee Football Tournament, Dada Saheb Chavan Memorial Cup and Guru Teg Bhadur Football Tournament. The Club also won many State level and All India Level football tournaments held in Kolhapur, Gadhinglaj, Miraj, Indore and Akola.

The Club has always worked hard to uplift football in Pune district, for which the Club has organized many training camps for young players in Pune. The Club also ran scholarship programs in which the economically unfortunate players were provided with football kits. Over the years, the Club has produced many State and National Level players. some of them are Jayant Sinha, Prakash Rawat, Indrakumar Kutty and Xavier Swamy.

DSK Shivajians Football Club is an Indian football club based in Pune, Maharashtra. DSK Shivajians was founded in 1987 and in 2013 they played their first ever national season in the 2013 I-League 2nd Division.

The club, which was founded in 1987, was promoted to the Pune Super Division, the top football league in the Pune district of Maharashtra, in 1989.

Then in early 2013 the club announced their intent to make it at the national level of Indian football by asking for direct entry into the I-League, the top football league in India, from the All India Football Federation, along with Dodsal. However on 25 January 2013 it was announced that instead of direct entry, DSK would have to participate and finish in a top two spot in the 2013 I-League 2nd Division if they want to win promotion to the I-League.