Women’s League 2016-17

The Inaugural edition of Women’s League 2016-17 is on its way. The very first edition of the league sees a great opportunity for women footballers to play professionally.

Cuttack will host the preliminary round of the Inaugural edition of the Indian Women’s League 2016-17. The preliminary round will kick-off on 17 Oct 2016, Monday.

“This is an historic moment in Inidan Football and especially for Indian Women Footballers. Promotion of Women’s Football stays on our priority list at All India Football Federation and this League is going to further enhance our process. Our primary aim is to qualify for the AFC Asian Cup 2018 and the League will offer the perfect platform for our Women Footballers to showcase their talent,” says Mr. Kushal Das, General Secretary, AIFF.

Ten teams across the country will battle to qualify for the National finals, to be held later. These ten teams will be divided in two groups, from which the top team, from each, will compete for the tittle.

Group I: Royal Wahingdoh FC (Meghalaya), Alakhpura FC (Haryana), Rising Student FC (Odisha), New Quartz FC (Kerala) and Bodyline FC (WIFA).

Group II: Eastern Sporting Union FC (Manipur), KRYPHSA FC (Manipur), Jeppiyar Institute FC (Pondicherry), Sudeva Moonlight FC (Delhi) and UPFC (Uttar Pradesh).